Sarah Palin Mao

September 6, 2008

I think I should start tagging my posts. In fact, I should go back and retroactively tag them, but I’m too lazy. Besides, who wants to read their own rants and musings from days past? And who could stomach such sappy, melodramatic crap anyway?

WordPress is claiming I have one comment. But when I go to view it from the administrative back end, I can’t seem to locate it. Perhaps it’s visible from the main site, but that doesn’t do me any good.

The more I read about Sarah Palin, the more I get this uneasy feeling that she’s going to be the US’s Madame Mao. Their similarities are quite frightening. The switch from the entertainment business to politics, the rise to power during a dividing and crucial period in the nation’s development, the ailing leader and the political position only a step from leadership, the anti-intellectualism, the frequent reminder of other’s patriotism or the lack thereof, the abuses of power, these are all characteristics of Madame Mao. Her greatest claim to fame is the Cultural Revolution, which set China back some 30 years. If Sarah Palin gets elected as VP, I have to wonder if the US will go through its own period of “Cultural Revolution.” That would be a sad, sad day indeed. But I think most people who actively follow current events with an impartial eye would see it coming from a mile away.

And, to take a play from the Republican’s book, Palin’s home state is closer to Beijing than Washington D.C. almost as close to Beijing as it is to Washington D.C.. She definitely qualifies for the job because she received experience just from watching the last woman leader on her side of the world!

The rational part of my minds insists McCain and Palin won’t win, simply because people are ready to get rid of the Republicans. But the skeptical part of my mind is fearful of the same Bush vs. Gore upset. And the practical part of my mind is screaming to make plans for when the undesired couple does win.

If the Democrats this election cycle get a good 10-seat majority in the Senate, it won’t really matter who’s president. But seeing as how congress’s approval rating is even lower than the president’s rating, I find that doubtful.

I recently finished the Service Station. I have to admit that it’s a neat little set, and a nice throwback to the Octan theme from the 90′s. But I can’t get into it as much as I would like, largely in part because of the gratitious use of special pieces, and the need for decals on all of the major image pieces. In fact, without the decals, the only thing that would hint at it being an Octan station would be the color scheme. And it isn’t as if there are any multi-piece decals either. For such a neat little set, and my first town set with a baseplate in a very long time (measured in decades), that’s a crying shame.

I saw the pictures of the new Power Miners line. The images are low-res, but so far, I’m not really feeling excited. The glow-in-the-dark puke green really doesn’t do it for me. Bring back Mtron I say!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

